

Peter Milobar, MLA Kamloops - North Thompson

Jackie Tegart, MLA Fraser - Nicola

Todd Stone, MLA Kamloops – South Thompson

Lorne Doerkson, MLA

Greg Kyllo, MLA Shuswap

Cariboo-Chilcotin

January 18, 2021

**Premier Horgan Premiers Office** PO BOX 9041 STN PROV GOVT Victoria, BC V8W 9E1 SENT VIA EMAIL: premier@gov.bc.ca

Dear Mr. Premier,

Re: Kamloops Cancer Care Centre

During the recent provincial election, you made a commitment for a Cancer Care Centre to be built in Kamloops within the next four years. As local MLA's for the Thompson Regional Hospital District (TRHD) Board several questions have arisen, and we are looking for clarification to be able to provide accurate answers to our constituents.

What is the expected operational date for the Cancer Care Centre?

Has the planning for the new Cancer Care Centre started?

What is the scope of Cancer treatment services that will be provided in the new Centre, and will said scope be inclusive of at least two linear accelerators?

Where will the new Cancer Care Centre be located?

Is the money for the planning being provided by Interior Health Authority (IHA) or the Ministry of Health?

Who will be the lead agency in this project, Ministry of Health, IHA or BC Cancer?

Given previous Cancer Centre's have been a collaboration between the Province and BC Cancer, is this the intended model for the Kamloops Cancer Care Centre?

Given previous Cancer Centre's were not funded by local Hospital Boards, will the TRHD be expected to commit capital dollars or will the new Cancer Care Centre be funded by the Province and BC Cancer?

If the intention is to seek capital dollars from the TRHD, what is the contribution expected to be?

Will Hospital Foundations be expected to fundraise for the new Cancer Care Centre?

Kamloops - North Thompson **Constituency Office** 618B Tranquille Road Kamloops, B.C. V2B 3H6 T 250.554.5413 | F 250.554.5417

Shuswap **Constituency Office** PO Box 607, Suite 202A-371 Alexander St. NE Salmon Arm, BC V1E 4N7 T 250.833.7414 | F 250.833.7422

Kamloops - South Thompson **Constituency Office** 446 Victoria Street Kamloops, B.C. V2C 2A7 T 250.374.2880 | F 250.377.3448 **Cariboo-Chilcotin** 

Fraser-Nicola **Constituency Office** PO Box 279, 405 Railway Avenue Ashcroft, BC VOK 1A0 T 250.453.9726 | F 250.453.9765

**Constituency Office** T 250.374.2880 | F 250.377.3448 If the intention is to seek a contribution from Hospital Foundations, what is the amount expected to be?

If the expectation is for Capital dollars from either the TRHD or Hospital Foundations, will the Cancer Care Centre proceed without those commitments?

The need for enhanced Cancer care in Kamloops and the surrounding region has never been greater. We look forward to not only answers to the questions above, but also to working collaboratively with all stakeholders to get this project built and operational within the four-year timeframe that you have promised.

Thank you for your attention to this important matter and we look forward to your response.

Sincerely,

Peter Milobar, MLA Kamloops – North Thompson

Jackie Tegart, MLA Fraser - Nicola

Greg Kyllo, MLA Shuswap

Todd Stone, MLA Kamloops – South Thompson

Lorne Doerkson Cariboo-Chilcotin

Сс Adrian Dix, Minister of Health Renee Merrifield, MLA Kelowna-Mission, Official Opposition Health Critic Dr. Kim Nguyen Chi, Vice President & Chief Medical Officer, BC Cancer Heather Findlay, Chief Operating Officer, BC Cancer Kevin Hare, Senior Executive Director Operations, BC Cancer Sarah Roth, President & CEO, BC Cancer Foundation Kirsten Tisdale, Chair, BC Cancer Foundation Susan Brown, CEO, Interior Health Doug Cochrane, Chair, Interior Health Chair and Board, Thompson Regional Hospital District Chris Nickless, Chair, Cariboo Foundation Hospital Trust **Cariboo Memorial Hospital Foundation** Chris Nickless, Chair, South Cariboo Health Foundation Dave Smith, President, Chase and District Health Services Foundation Jean, Perog, President, Nicola Valley Health Care Endowment Foundation Jessica McLellan, Chair, Lillooet District Hospital Foundation

Kamloops - North Thompson **Constituency Office** 618B Tranquille Road Kamloops, B.C. V2B 3H6 T 250.554.5413 | F 250.554.5417

Shuswap **Constituency Office** PO Box 607, Suite 202A-371 Alexander St. NE Salmon Arm, BC V1E 4N7 T 250.833.7414 | F 250.833.7422

Kamloops – South Thompson **Constituency Office** 446 Victoria Street Kamloops, B.C. V2C 2A7 T 250.374.2880 | F 250.377.3448

**Cariboo-Chilcotin Constituency Office** T 250.374.2880 | F 250.377.3448

Fraser-Nicola **Constituency Office** PO Box 279, 405 Railway Avenue Ashcroft, BC VOK 1A0 T 250.453.9726 | F 250.453.9765

Kerri Priddle, Chair, Royal Inland Hospital Foundation Heidi Coleman, Chief Executive Officer, Royal Inland Hospital Foundation Angie Spencer, President, Shuswap Hospital Foundation Mayor and Council, City of Armstrong Kevin Bertles, Chief Administrative Officer, City of Armstrong Mayor and Council, Village of Ashcroft Daniela Dyck, Chief Administrative Officer, Village of Ashcroft Mayor and Council, District of Barriere Bob Payette, Chief Administrative Officer, District of Barriere Mayor and Council, Village of Cache Creek Martin Dalsin, Chief Administrative Officer, Village of Cache Creek Mayor and Council, Village of Chase Joni Heinrich, Chief Administrative Officer, Village of Chase Mayor and Council, District of Clearwater Leslie Groulx, Chief Administrative Officer, District of Clearwater Mayor and Council, Village of Clinton Murray Daly, Chief Administrative Officer, Village of Clinton Mayor and Council, City of Enderby Tate Bengston, Chief Administrative Officer, City of Enderby Mayor and Council, City of Kamloops David Trawin, Chief Administrative Officer, City of Kamloops Mayor and Council, District of Lillooet Jeremy Denegar, Chief Administrative Officer, District of Lillooet Mayor and Council, District of Logan Lake Dan Leighton, Chief Administrative Officer, District of Logan Lake Mayor and Council, Village of Lytton Symone Curry, Chief Administrative Officer, Village of Lytton Mayor and Council, City of Merritt Sean Smith, Chief Administrative Officer, City of Merritt Mayor and Council, City of Salmon Arm Carl Bannister, Chief Administrative Officer, City of Salmon Arm Mayor and Council, District of Sicamous Evan Parliament, Chief Administrative Officer, District of Sicamous Mayor and Council, Sun Peaks Mountain Resort Municipality Rob Bremner, Chief Administrative Officer, Sun Peaks Mountain Resort Municipality Mayor and Council, City of Williams Lake Gary Muraca, Chief Administrative Officer, City of Williams Lake Mayor and Council, District of 100 Mile House Roy Scott, Chief Administrative Officer, District of 100 Mile House

Kamloops – North Thompson Constituency Office 618B Tranquille Road Kamloops, B.C. V2B 3H6 T 250.554.5413 | F 250.554.5417

## Shuswap Constituency Office PO Box 607, Suite 202A-371 Alexander St. NE Salmon Arm, BC V1E 4N7 T 250.833.7414 | F 250.833.7422

## Kamloops – South Thompson Constituency Office 446 Victoria Street Kamloops, B.C. V2C 2A7 T 250.374.2880 | F 250.377.3448

Cariboo-Chilcotin Constituency Office T 250.374.2880 | F 250.377.3448

## Fraser-Nicola Constituency Office PO Box 279, 405 Railway Avenue Ashcroft, BC VoK 1A0 T 250.453.9726 | F 250.453.9765